The politics of Bharat Ratna

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award conferred by the Republic of India.

One fine day Mr. LK Advani thought he needs to do something for former Prime Minister Atal Behari Vajpayee. In his opinion best thing to was recommend Mr. Vajpayee’s name for Bharat Ratna. He wrote a letter to Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh making his opinion known.

Taking a cue from Mr. Advani, we have had names of Infosys founder Mr. Narayanamurthy, Tata Group chairman Mr. Ratan Tata, Ex BSP supremo Late Mr. Kanshiram, Mr Jyoti Basu being publicised in Media for the award.

Congress leaders came out in public and ridiculed all other political parties of making Bharat Ratna an agenda. For a change I agree with a political party. Bharat Ratna is chosen by Prime Minister of our country and no one else should tamper with a thing like that. Our media should grow up and move beyond pink journalism.

It’s really sad to be part of a democracy where awards are chased by a pack of mad dogs (read politicians). They should rather be talking about development and important issues that plague the country.

The lists of recipients include CV Raman, Pt. Nehru, Mrs. Indira Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Nelson Mandela, JRD Tata, and Lata Mangeshkar amongst others.

Links: Complete list of awardees

No comments:

The Nidhi Kapoor Story

Did you like this post? May be you want to read my first book - The Nidhi Kapoor Story.

Check it out on Amazon or Flipkart?